CAG Membership

The CAG is made up of representatives of relevant jurisdictions, community stakeholders, residents, and other institutional stakeholders with a stake in the Site, with the goal of ensuring broad, diverse representation from communities with an interest in the Site. The CAG seeks diversity of background, interests, and skill sets among members. Relevant desirable attributes include a commitment to the process, communication skills, critical thinking skills, pertinent technical expertise, and representation of affected communities.

Steering Committee

The CAG is typically led by two Co-Chairs and a Steering Committee, consisting of individuals and organization representatives who are recognized as community leaders interested in remedial activities at the Newtown Creek Superfund Site. The CAG co-chairs organize and lead the CAG’s efforts. Co-chairs serve one-year terms and are eligible to serve an unlimited number of terms. 

For further details on the roles and responsibilities of Co-chairs and Steering Committee members, and for an explanation of how the Steering Committee members and Co-Chairs are nominated, see the CAG’s operating procedures

The current co-chair is Willis Elkins (executive director of Newtown Creek Alliance). The past co-chairs of the CAG are:

    • Kate Zidar (2012-2013)
    • Ryan Kuonen (2012-2022)
    • Mike Schade (2013-2016)

Current Members and Affiliations

Willis ElkinsNewtown Creek AllianceCo-chair
Leah ArchibaldEvergreen ExchangeSteering Committee
Kendall CharterGreenpoint YMCASteering Committee
Mike DulongRiverkeeperSteering Committee
Sarah DurandLaGuardia - CUNYSteering Committee
Quincy Ely-CateMaspeth Industrial Business Association (MIBA)Steering Committee
Christine HolowaczNCA; NCMCSteering Committee
Louis KleinmanEnvironmental ConsultantSteering Committee
Paul PulloUnited Metro FuelsSteering Commitee
Charles YuLong Island City PartnershipSteering Committee
Tony ArgentoBroadway StagesMember
Erick BaardHarborLABMember
Frederick BakerSt. Nick's AllianceMember
Patterson BeckwithNorth Brooklyn Boat ClubMember
Ronald BlendermannRetired Assistant Commissioner DSNYMember
Tanya BleyResidentMember
Lisa BloodgoodCreek AllianceMember
Ryan CagleMaspeth Industrial Business AssociationMember
Steve CheslerBrooklyn CB1Member
Katie EllmanGreen Shores NYCMember
Stephen FabianEvergreen ExchangeMember
Jessica FordResidentMember
Ted GruberLIC BoathouseMember
Michael HaskellNorth Brooklyn Boat ClubMember
Michael HeimbinderNewtown Creek AllianceMember
Brett HermanResidentMember
Laura HofmannBarge Park Pals; NCA; NCMCMember
Michael HofmannBarge Park; NCA; NCMCMember
Joby JacobLa Guardia - CUNYMember
Ed KellyMaritime Association of the Port of NY/NJMember
Bradley KerrNorth Brooklyn Boat ClubMember
Ryan KuonenCB #1, Brooklyn NeighborhorsMember
Steve LangLa Guardia - CUNYMember
John LipscombBoat Captain; River KeeperMember
Rich MazurNorth Brooklyn Development CorporationMember
Dorothy MoreheadQueens CB 2 Environmental Committee Chair; NCA HarborLabMember
Jan MunResident Member
Erica PajerowskiNorth Brooklyn Community BoathouseMember
Johanna PhelpsResident; Landscape ArchitectMember
Julia PienkowskaResidentMember
Sophie PloeghResidentMember
Holly Porter-MorganlaGuardia Community College; CUNIY Environmental Science Program Director; SWIM Steering CommittteeMember
Dina RabinerBrooklyn Chamber of CommerceMember
Chrissy RemeinRiverkeeperMember
Nicholas RussellCUNY studentMember
Jason SinopoliResidentMember
Dewey ThompsonNorth Brooklyn Boat ClubMember
Teresa ToroResidentMember
Mitch WaxmanNewtown Creek AllianceMember
Frank WuQueens CB2Member
Judith ZelikoffNYUMember
Kate ZidarNewtown Creek AllianceMember
Marina ZurkowResidentMember
Scroll to Top